Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: DSATX Review by Mr. Albers

  1. #11
    Maximum Bitrate Caelric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, NE
    Posts
    834
    I don't know about that, but if you PM zootjeff (the maker of the DSATX) he will be able to answer; if it doesn't do that, he may very well be able to modify it to do so. Very good customer service and very easy to work with.

    Dave
    2005 Infiniti G35 6MT Coupe Black/Black
    Core Duo CarPC
    CarDomain page

  2. #12
    Newbie suncam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    south Florida
    Posts
    33

    Ross

    o wow that Honda element looks like mine .. that's too funny I have the pc on the right side in the back too! this is a small world .. can you tell me ware i can buy a nice interter? i mean i was going to do the dc/dc thing but i run all other cams off my inverter! and problem 2 is my inveter sounds like its going to take off lol... too loud!!!!!

    Ross from www.suncam.tv

  3. #13
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Falls Church, VA
    Posts
    904
    I cannot stress enough how much i like my DSATX. The damn invertor was really loud. You could always replace the fan with a quieter one but it seems like a hassle.

  4. #14
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    1,244
    Here is a link to the latest DSATX Spec. It does not support remote triggering as of yet. It is something I plan to add. If you'd like to be a beta tester for it I can put it in for you.

    http://www.mpegbox.com/pdf/DSATX_Manual.pdf

    -Jeff
    MPEGBOX - Plexiglass Computer
    www.mpegbox.com

  5. #15
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Falls Church, VA
    Posts
    904
    Quote Originally Posted by zootjeff
    Here is a link to the latest DSATX Spec. It does not support remote triggering as of yet. It is something I plan to add. If you'd like to be a beta tester for it I can put it in for you.

    http://www.mpegbox.com/pdf/DSATX_Manual.pdf

    -Jeff

    Pretty nifty! Can you define "Remote Triggering"?

  6. #16
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    570
    Nice pix mate and looking for a decent PSU for my project. Mr Zootjeff any info on the remote trigger yet?

    BTW I love the keyboard mounting, can you provide any details on this Will?

    PEACE
    Kosti
    New Car PC Build list in progress

  7. #17
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    Kosti> what do you mean by 'remote trigger'?

    The init accepts 3 input rails - VCC, GND and ACC.
    VCC is Car's 12V (battery)
    GND is Car's Chassis (connect to chassis, not battery -ve [to avoid GND loops])
    ACC - is basically the ON/OFF switch. Connect this to your car's accessory line. When its 12V the DSatx will be on. When its 0v the DSatx will either be off, or if it was ON it begin its shutdown timer/procedure.

    If you wanted to turn on your DS-ATX (PC) via your remote unlock signal you need to use a latching relay / flip flop.

    These relays change state (On or OFF) for each time you trigger them. Therefore, wire the indicator signal to the relay (which will turn on when you 'open' the car and then off again when you 'lock' the car) and the output of the Relay to the ACC on the DSATX.

    Trouble is, the flipflop will toggle between on and off. So if you lock your car and then accidentally lock it again straight after, you have effectively "turned off then turned back on the DSATX"...ie: It has no way to know which state it should REALLY be in.

    Its safer to just use ACC from the car itself.
    I have a DSATX. Awesome unit. Efficient, powerful and cleverly built = good functions.

  8. #18
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    570
    By remote triggering I mean turning the PSU on which in turn will power up the system.

    You achieve this by say disarming your alarm via your key remote.

    But ideally you'd use a different key type remote to avoid accidently leaving it on as you mentioned.

    Cheers
    Kosti
    New Car PC Build list in progress

  9. #19
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3
    You could always wire it to acc wire and install a remote start, that way you click the button to start your car allowing it cool or heat your car depending on the time of year, and also start your pc up before you get in the car.

  10. #20
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    remote triggering

    could you not use the ign in on the psu to remotely trigger it just give it power and its on. If you want it to act on a pulse instead of constant you can use a relay.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. My DSATX 220w experience
    By tj!2k4 in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 08:47 PM
  2. DSATX Review
    By parvo99 in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2005, 05:25 PM
  3. DSATX 220w PSU Review
    By greenman100 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 10-13-2005, 12:50 PM
  4. DSATX review / Shuttle PSU mod
    By alti in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-11-2005, 01:34 PM
  5. DSATX review
    By PJR in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 07:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •