Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Freedom Mini Keyboard

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate skippy911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    440

    Freedom Mini Keyboard

    Hi all,

    Promised I would do this review a while ago but I had never went out and bought a bluetooth dongle. I now have a mac mini intel with windows xp running bootcamp so what follows is my review. Ill refer to the "Freedom Mini Keyboard" as FMK for the rest of this review

    Item: FMK



    This is the keyboard I purchased on ebay. I got it brandnew from the seller. It came with a drivers cd, crappy pouch (not pictured), and the unit itself.

    The manufactorer has a website at: http://freedominput.com/mainsite/index.php

    Installation:

    I turned on the FMK and went into windows xp bluetooth manager. You can find this by going to start -> control panel -> Bluetooth devices. Pressing the link key once on the FMK will put the device into discoverable mode. Now just follow the rest of the prompts and when it asks you to input a passkey just input the one given to you and press enter.

    Installation was a breeze but how well does the thing work?

    Range:

    I am typing what is in italics on the FMK from about 15 feet away, haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. as you can see it got mad and sent about 9 gazillion letter A's.

    This is the same test on my porch through a wall only 10 feet away, haha. worked perfectly.

    Last but not least a test from 10 feet away no walls, haha. Again perfect.

    I am not sure why it messed up from 15 feet away, may be the range of the mac mini's bluetooth radio.

    Reconnecting:

    When you turn the FMK on and press any of the keys you must wait about 5 seconds and you will see the blue light near the link key blink, that means the FKB has reconnected with windows and is ready to go. Freedom states the unit can be in standby mode for 1000 hours, but since it reconnects so easily I just turn it off and then back on.

    Backlight:

    Here is a picture of the backlight on the FMK:



    I am in total darkness in this shot with no flash on the camera. Looks pretty good to me. The light is bright but not bright enough to light up your car. It is also really easy to turn on and off, just hold the Num key and press link. Do the same combination to turn it off. Strange thing is you can only turn on the backlight when the keyboard is connected to the pc.

    Conclusion:

    The FMK does what it says it should. Types in windows wirelessly and with a backlit keyboard. I give it a 10 out of 10 for car pc use.

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate kiztope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In the car
    Posts
    426
    Great review! Is there any way that you can take a pic with the FMK next to something else (soda can, credit card, etc...) to get a better idea of the size?
    Thanks!

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate skippy911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by kiztope
    Great review! Is there any way that you can take a pic with the FMK next to something else (soda can, credit card, etc...) to get a better idea of the size?
    Thanks!
    The card I took the picture with is the same exact size as a credit card. Its my train card for the JR line.

  4. #4
    Maximum Bitrate PORTUGAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    PORTO
    Posts
    527


    How much did you pay for this ?
    Do you have a link to the ebay seller ?
    Here in Portugal we have great weather, lots of brunnets, party a lot,drink a lot....
    http://img138.echo.cx/img138/896/bannerjoshua5dy.jpg

  5. #5
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    ditto to what portugal said, I'd like to know as well.

    mostly from the buyer on ebay...

    thanks for posting the review!
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate PORTUGAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    PORTO
    Posts
    527
    Here in Portugal we have great weather, lots of brunnets, party a lot,drink a lot....
    http://img138.echo.cx/img138/896/bannerjoshua5dy.jpg

  7. #7
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    lol

    yea for me!

    boo for you
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  8. #8
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Maryland/NOVA
    Posts
    432
    Great review! I have the same keyboard, a side note for current or future owners, don't buy a cheap BT receiver. You will have many headaches trying to get the FMK to re-connect.
    2001 Acura CL traded for a 2006 Subaru Legacy GT
    7" Lilliput Touchscreen
    NANO-ITX+m1-atx
    512 DDRsodimm
    60g SATA Laptop HD
    4x Apple DVDslot
    digimoto OBDii
    mS GPS
    mini BT keyboard
    relocated HU faceplate

  9. #9
    Variable Bitrate skippy911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    440
    Oh and if anyone wants to, freedom works great for use in osx to control frontrow Now no need to relocate the IR receiver just to control frontrow.

    PS: I bought it from the seller getyourtech on ebay.

  10. #10
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    393
    Quote Originally Posted by acura cl
    Great review! I have the same keyboard, a side note for current or future owners, don't buy a cheap BT receiver. You will have many headaches trying to get the FMK to re-connect.
    So which BT receiver do you have now that you like?

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FAQ: Installing a Mac Mini in Your Car
    By Bugbyte in forum The FAQ Emporium
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 09:12 PM
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-26-2006, 10:50 AM
  3. Freedom Mini Keyboard
    By Zio Bill in forum Input Devices
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-12-2006, 09:04 PM
  4. mini keyboard
    By finnman925 in forum Input Devices
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 01-01-2006, 10:33 PM
  5. mini keyboard
    By Alphared in forum Input Devices
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-27-2004, 11:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •