Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: H/W Review- PCI Vid Card 6200- umm $28

  1. #1
    Low Bitrate VehicrossPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Daytona Beach, Fl
    Posts
    66

    H/W Review- PCI Vid Card 6200- umm $28

    Hardware Review: 3D Fuzion 3DFR6200P Geforce 6200 128MB 64-bit DDR PCI Video Card

    What it is/does: utilizes your pci slot well for itx boards with limited vid- othwise just a video card

    Reviewed by: Francesco
    Manufacturer : BFG Tech/3D Fuzion
    Model: 3DFR6200P
    Specs: check link below for better but-350 core clock and 128mb RAMDAC 400 MHz PCI
    Price: 27.99 plus ship
    Rating: 10/10
    Purchased at: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143058
    Pros: cheap and still retail. It will run awesome res on my monitor: lot's of weird 16:9 res that I never saw before which actually work. I used to have to run at insane 1280*760 to get the correct screen fit but everything was too small. Much better vid quality than my fx5200, onboard Intel g846 I think, or onboard PcChips vid on several different boards I've used in past for this monitor. I wanna say it looks brighter too, but this might just be placebo effect of knowing I got something new. def check it out.. also, will display gpu temp in settings; has dvi, vga and s video output with dvi to vga plug included. comments on site explain frame rates and all the good gaming stuff- I just got it for 16:9 compat summary- AWESOME IF YOU ONLY HAVE A PCI AVL LIKE ME ON AN ITX BOARD

    Cons: It's a full size card, so it takes up some space. Also, it did some weird things while scrolling, like sudden dashed lines appearing..

    Pictures: check site
    [------|-] 95% computer... is it ever really done?

    www.vehicross.info for all you VXer's

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14
    Nice review and I've got a question that I hope you can help me with. I'm using a PII 266 Dell laptop for my carputer setup. Unfortunately when I try and watch any sort of encoded video (DivX, WMV, etc) my CPU usage maxes out at 100%! Do you think a video card like this would help my system out? I'm using a docking station that has 2 PCI slots so this card and a nice sound card would be nice. Thanks.
    -John

  3. #3
    Newbie Brad Groux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by TwistedRotors
    Nice review and I've got a question that I hope you can help me with. I'm using a PII 266 Dell laptop for my carputer setup. Unfortunately when I try and watch any sort of encoded video (DivX, WMV, etc) my CPU usage maxes out at 100%! Do you think a video card like this would help my system out? I'm using a docking station that has 2 PCI slots so this card and a nice sound card would be nice. Thanks.
    -John
    A video card will definately help your cause, as will maxing the RAM in your system if you can. At 266 MHz though you'll probably still struggle to get a decent frame rate out of your larger DivX movies... Check out the DivX System requirements HERE, as you can see your PC is nowhere near the requirement of a 733MHz PIII.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    46
    crap...i bought one on ebay for a lot more cause this item used to be out of stock on newegg
    project in the works....no worklog but i will post a completed thread.

  5. #5
    Low Bitrate VehicrossPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Daytona Beach, Fl
    Posts
    66
    yeah, I saw it on e-bay for 4 sale first and tried to look up reviews, but stumbled on the newegg.com deal. All the reviews I read were from that site and pretty good. I haven't had much time to test as much as I want since I just finished rebuilding the computer, and still need to put it back into my truck. Im sure I could find software online to test some benchmarks or framerates. For the little bit I tested it, I was amazed how good the picture quality was. I fooled around with the Touch Friendly Game Emulator a bit and was running some games in HD mode... 360 what? funny thing is it ran better windowed than full screen.
    [------|-] 95% computer... is it ever really done?

    www.vehicross.info for all you VXer's

  6. #6
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    184
    Anyone know where to find power draw specifications on this video card, or others like it?
    Thank You /////ALPINE
    7" Lilli. GPSlim236. Streetdeck. Mappoint. M9000. M2ATX, XMDirect

  7. #7
    Constant Bitrate Eternalodyssey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    210
    Kenop, I saw the 6200 rated for 33 watts at maximum operation but I cannot seem to find where I found it before. I'll see if I can pull it back up but I know for a fact that I saw the power requirements on two different power calculators as 33 watts. (Not sure if it was 12v or 5v though)
    Check out the updates. Project 2003 Dakota worklog: http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/worklogs/85490-project-2003-dodge-dakota.html


    IS JACK BAUER GONNA HAVE TO SMACK A *****?

Similar Threads

  1. Flexi PCI riser card bandwidth question
    By sama in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-13-2008, 11:31 PM
  2. upper limit for pci video card powered by an m2-atx?
    By megagoo in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-24-2006, 07:08 AM
  3. PCI card riser card
    By allenruble in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-25-2001, 07:51 AM
  4. New powersupply! Question about PCI riser card.
    By jssaggie in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-30-2001, 08:34 AM
  5. new pci tv-out vid card recommendations?
    By RaZor in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-15-2001, 12:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •