Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: Hardware Review: iBase MB899 mini-ITX mainboard

  1. #11
    rhg
    rhg is offline
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    Ah, yes I do have Bluetooth - a Belkin F8T013 USB dongle. I'll try unplugging it later and seeing if it makes a difference.
    It's strange that it had no effect on my C7.

  2. #12
    rhg
    rhg is offline
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    Well I tried disconnecting the bluetooth dongle and infortunately it didn't improve things at all. Thanks for the suggestion though.

    The board hibernates in 11 seconds flat, so I really don't understand why it takes so much longer to resume. Do you reckon it could be a dodgy motherboard?

  3. #13
    FLAC strohj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Pearland
    Posts
    1,345
    I suppose it possible.. but I doubt it....
    Pentium 4m 1.5GHz|MB896|Roadie Extreme|XM-Direct|Rikaline 6010|T-View 7"|Streetdeck|160gb Western Digital|1Gb DDR2-533 Ram

  4. #14
    Low Bitrate dontpntpool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    96
    nice review thanks!

  5. #15
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    DuPont, WA
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by RedGTiVR6 View Post
    what case are you running this all in?

    I've got the Opus case (the one with 2 PCI slots) and I'm trying to figure out what CPU fan to use. Being quiet is key as is the height.

    Also, are you using a SATA laptop drive? or IDE?
    Sorry I didn't see this earlier. I couldn't find a chassis that worked well for my 2-DIN slot and custom bezel, so I got a U-shaped aluminum chassis from a guy on here, www.mechatroniks.com, which fits the motherboard great, then I bolted on aluminum strips from the hardware store to mount the roadie (case off), power supplies (1 for board, 1 for amps), 4x25W amps, LCD board, and HDD.

    I ordered a Cooler Master EEP-N41SS-01 from Logicsupply for the CPU fan, and it's a perfect fit. It runs at 6500 RPM, so it's a bit noisy, but does a good job of cooling. As a result of the noise, I picked up a Silenx case fan (60mm). It's deadly quiet and actually creates enough airflow to prevent the CPU fan from even coming on during normal use. So that prevents any noise issue unless there are unusually high temps, in which case I'll have some noise, but am still protected.

    I'm using an IDE drive, but that was a mistake. Definately wish I went with SATA, even though it cost a bit more. That big ribbon cable and adapter caused a bit of a headache in my tight space.

  6. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Messina, Italy, Italy
    Posts
    14
    good review

  7. #17
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    I'm running into all kinds of issues with the onboard video of this board now.

    It all started randomly. Suddenly, the video wouldn't display. Removed the PC and hooked it up to a normal monitor. No dice.

    Went in under Safe Mode and could get in fine. Disabled the video driver and rebooted. Everything was fine.

    Reinstalled windows and installed the newest driver, same exact thing. Once I install the driver and restart, I don't get anything on the screen.

    Go in on safe mode, disable and restart and I can get into windows just fine.

    Only kicker? I don't have any video drivers so some programs won't run. I only have one resolution too...

    anyone else run into this issue?
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  8. #18
    FLAC strohj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Pearland
    Posts
    1,345
    I have the MB896 and I have none of these problems.. dont they use the same onboard video?
    Pentium 4m 1.5GHz|MB896|Roadie Extreme|XM-Direct|Rikaline 6010|T-View 7"|Streetdeck|160gb Western Digital|1Gb DDR2-533 Ram

  9. #19
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    hrmmmm - I wonder if I have an issue with the video chip?
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  10. #20
    FLAC strohj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Pearland
    Posts
    1,345
    the fact it happened all of a sudden.. points to either a driver update which has bugs OR physical failure... can you try with a older driver? perhaps the one that came on the CD with the mobo ...
    Pentium 4m 1.5GHz|MB896|Roadie Extreme|XM-Direct|Rikaline 6010|T-View 7"|Streetdeck|160gb Western Digital|1Gb DDR2-533 Ram

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FAQ: Installing a Mac Mini in Your Car
    By Bugbyte in forum The FAQ Emporium
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 08:12 PM
  2. WIFI CONNECTION MANAGERS (mini review)
    By liquid_smoke in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 04-27-2007, 08:04 PM
  3. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 06:39 AM
  4. Regular Power supply for mini itx
    By adubb in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2006, 08:28 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-06-2005, 10:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •