Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Review: TView 8" LCD Widescreen Touch Screen 56k Beware

  1. #1
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    186

    Review: TView 8" LCD Widescreen Touch Screen 56k Beware

    I bought the TView 8" LCD Widescreen from ebay after reading the Provision 8 LCD widescreen review.

    It seems that the dynamix, provision, and the tview are rebadge units from the same manufacturer.
    I purchased it for $195 shipped with Buy it now from Ebay. Dynamix auctions were going for 250!!

    Spec:
    Native Res: 800x480 (even tough some seller describe 640x480 is incorrect)
    Max res: I don't really know, I ran it upto 1152x648 (seller describes at 640x480 or 800x480 is incorrect)
    Size: 8' diagnal
    400nit

    Review: I haven't used it much but.....here goes
    The unit comes with a Hitachi Panel...after searching online, the panel has a 450nit brightness. After going through the touch screen you probably get 350-400 nit, as advertised.The unit that comes with a head rest mount...the problem is that the holes on the bottom doesn't match up to fit with the cables....the vga cable has a big connector but is expected to fit in a small hole. The screen is very bright and crisp...no dead pixels...however; 2 lines from the left side, there is a "werid" line..."I THINK" the werid line appears from the light passing through the edge of the touch screen grid and somehow distorts that line. Not very noticable with regular use, but just to let you know my unit had it there. Touch screen is good...25 point calibration...however, the screen doens't have a nice "feel" to it; I'll probably get a screen protector overlay. The rear of the enclosure is made of metal and the front bezel is plastic. There is no auto on feature, you have to press the ON button to scroll through the inputs. The remote has a "mirror" feature, but I don't have a camera to test if it actually works. There is a dimmer function,..dark, normal, bright. You can switch between 4:3 or strech to 16:9 on the remote. That's bout all I can say now. Fell free to ask or request anything.


    Pros:
    Cost $195 shipped!!!
    400nit actual brightness
    nice flat enclosure

    Cons:
    Head rest mount doesn't fit
    No auto on
    "werid line" (probably only on my unit)














  2. #2
    Low Bitrate sedtc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    tally-ho, fl
    Posts
    64
    nice review, i'm sure that we are all appreciative that you took the time to make a write up about your new display. i personally was just about to pull the trigger on one of these but i needed a little more information first and planned on emailing the seller. your review has saved me the trouble of waiting for a response from the seller and i'm almost certain that the details that you noted will be far more accurate that some generic response from the seller. it's funny how the product description rarely lines up with actual product specs on ebay, online auctions have brought new meaning words 'caveat emptor.' back on topic, i wanted to know if you have owned any other touchscreens prior to this one and if so, how does your new display stack up in comparison. i also wanted to confirm that there was no AC adapter shipped with the item for powering the item on the test bench.

    again, your time and insight is appreciated.

    sedtc

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate tn6478's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    791
    Actually this touch screen is nice. It has a good warranty rate. I have 4 of these screen and it doesn't give me a problem. The lines that you are talking about is the touchscreen panel. I dont have those on mines. Depend on the unit ship. I do notice that the one that I have seen at the dealer some are on the bottom and some are on top. I am able to pick so no problem for me. The headrest mount does not fit dude to lack of space on the vga side as describe above. Beside that its a good screen.

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    186
    Quote Originally Posted by sedtc View Post
    nice review, i'm sure that we are all appreciative that you took the time to make a write up about your new display. i personally was just about to pull the trigger on one of these but i needed a little more information first and planned on emailing the seller. your review has saved me the trouble of waiting for a response from the seller and i'm almost certain that the details that you noted will be far more accurate that some generic response from the seller. it's funny how the product description rarely lines up with actual product specs on ebay, online auctions have brought new meaning words 'caveat emptor.' back on topic, i wanted to know if you have owned any other touchscreens prior to this one and if so, how does your new display stack up in comparison. i also wanted to confirm that there was no AC adapter shipped with the item for powering the item on the test bench.

    again, your time and insight is appreciated.

    sedtc

    I owned 1 prior 7" touchscreen bought from digitalww . com several years back without vga (because they didn't exist back then). The unit was like the one pictured here http://digitalww . com/TouchKitInstalation.htm This screen is is "whiter"...some screens have a "yellowish" tint to it, this one doesn't. The VGA really improves video quality over composite rca. You are correct. This unit doesn't come with a AC adapter. The specs says that it uses 700mA at 12 Volts, I just hooked it up to my desktop power supply...but it's not too hard to get a 12V 700mA AC adapter from FRY'S or radio shack.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2
    I bought one in Taiwan.
    And my TView T-800TS can auto on when my computer turns on.

    I also have "weired line".

  6. #6
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    186
    Quote Originally Posted by colaboy View Post
    I bout one in Taiwan.
    And my TView T-800TS can auto when my computer turns on.
    I guess they updated the unit with that feature. That's nice

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    Need Help on this subject

    I recently purchased a small 7.2" LCD monitor. The powwer hookup is simply a red positive wire with a fuse and a black ground that currently have nothing on the end but a small stripped portion. The last time I bought one of these it came with an AC adapter and the connector already attached to the power wires.

    Can anyone give me advice on how to get this thing powered. I have no expertise in this area.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    186
    Your right, connect the red wire to the positive terminal, and the black to ground or negative terminal....is there something I'm missing?

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10

    What car you installing the 8" TD in ?

    Hey AcuraTLfan, are you doing an install on a TL ? Love to hear more about it since I am a 3g non-nav owner myself.

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    36
    Thanks for the review. I ordered the Dynamix version of this. It's going into a 05 non-navi TL.

    Yea AcuraTLfan, How's the install coming along?? Give us some details.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Kiosk LCD and touch Screen Help
    By RatonCrispiN in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-02-2012, 10:41 PM
  2. Double-Din touch screen LCD?
    By senseless228 in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-28-2012, 07:15 PM
  3. WTB a LCD screen touch or no touch dont m
    By kyle_geo_freak in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-06-2005, 09:25 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-03-2005, 02:15 AM
  5. 10" vga lcd touch screen going for 350 us
    By Mp3_Truck in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-16-2001, 12:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •