Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 107

Thread: Hardware Review: Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 HiFi

  1. #71
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    hello!

    my prodigy

    2x nichicon 2200uf @ 2x blackgate 4700uf

    i cant take it to 100% volume anymore.. extremely loud


    anyone knows what the J7 and JP2 jumpers do.. any info on that?

  2. #72
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    Hello NapalmV5 where did you get these capacitors?? What opamps do you use. I swapped the stereo opamps with lm4562...the sound changed..to the better except from the bass that is not as bright and loud.

  3. #73
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    i bought the caps from soniccraft

    the opamps in the above pic are the LT1364
    so far ive tested OPA637 OPA2107 OPA2134 LM4562 AD8620 many more to test



    i was going to do a total recap but for the time being im gonna leave the sanyo os-con caps on.. sounds ok

    ive recapped the nichicon muse 100uf to rubycon blackgate nx 220uf

    i can safely say that 40% wav/mas = higher db than @ 100% wav/mas stock caps

  4. #74
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    Nice...and in your opinion which is the best opamp you tested?? I want to try the opa 627!

  5. #75
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    AD797 AD8610 AD8620 OPA637 OPA627

    cant go wrong with any of these highend opamps

    the best opamp = 4x opamps paralleled per channel

  6. #76
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    Please write them in a raw starting from the best sounding. Explain the good and the bad of each one you tested!

  7. #77
    Car Audio Moderator durwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland (St. Charles,IL)
    Posts
    2,028
    Quote Originally Posted by NapalmV5 View Post
    i can safely say that 40% wav/mas = higher db than @ 100% wav/mas stock caps
    What type of load are you driving? Headphones or is this going into an amp? If it's driving headphones I might understand this possible rise in output since it is a harder load to drive vs an amp that has a typical 10Kohm input impedance. The PSU voltage does not change so really you are still capped by the PSU rail voltages going to the opamps in the buffer circuit.

    RE picking opamps:

    http://www.dself.dsl.pipex.com/ampins/webbop/opamp.htm

  8. #78
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by dbDRAG View Post
    Please write them in a raw starting from the best sounding. Explain the good and the bad of each one you tested!
    sorry im no opamp reviewer.. the only opamp reviewers should be the artists/the ones making the music, everybody else is just stating their subjective opinions

    sound is very subjective.. heck even video..

    there is no good/bad about the highend opamps.. the differences are more subtle

    it also depends a lot on your sound system/gear

  9. #79
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by durwood View Post
    What type of load are you driving? Headphones or is this going into an amp? If it's driving headphones I might understand this possible rise in output since it is a harder load to drive vs an amp that has a typical 10Kohm input impedance. The PSU voltage does not change so really you are still capped by the PSU rail voltages going to the opamps in the buffer circuit.

    RE picking opamps:

    http://www.dself.dsl.pipex.com/ampins/webbop/opamp.htm
    if headphone i wouldve stated

    no amp/receiver/etc.. just wires between the sound card and 7x powered subwoofers - 1 front left/1 center/1 front right/1 rear left/1 rear right/2 main


    believe it or not my modded MX300 beats the crap outta stock prodigy

    2x 2200uf paralleled power filter

  10. #80
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    since CE22 & CE39 are @ 5V.. ive replaced the 2x black gate 4700uf 16V caps to 2200uf 6.3V BG NX for increased capacitance & improved sq



    too bad the prodigy doesnt have an LFE.. this would be the badest sound card around

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: Provision 8" 16:9 VGA Touchscreen
    By lightman in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-15-2009, 08:02 AM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 01:23 PM
  3. Hardware Review: SB Audigy2 NX External USB Sound Card
    By hari-bhari in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 03:55 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 09:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •