Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 69

Thread: Hardware Review: Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1

  1. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7
    Merci.

    I am eager to see how you will fit those rca connectors on the board...

  2. #12
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    I won't be fitting them directly to the board. I'll be soldering on extensions. I wish I could fit them directly on the board.
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  3. #13
    Car Audio Moderator durwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland (St. Charles,IL)
    Posts
    2,028
    Not even a few weeks old and hacking away. I love it.

    Did you listen to it with the original 4580 opamps before you swapped them with the burr brown ones? I am sticking with the 4580's in my prodigy until I do a little more research on the opamps.

    How did you decide on the opa2134?

  4. #14
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    I spoke with a few of my friends who have been into audio (home and car) for ages. The Burr Brown is considered the best of the best.

    You can go here for a more indepth work log: New CarPC - this one for tuning

    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  5. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7
    You can order up to 5 "samples" of those opamp on the Ti website here

    Be shure to select the Dip8 form factor ...

  6. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    6
    Can you help me out? This card sounds great, but I've got an application that is a little different.

    1. I want to send digital audio stored on the PC to the card, have it output analog stereo, then to an analog surround decoder (way better than the digital alternatives imho) then input the 4.0 back on its analog inputs, then use the card as a volume control preamp, then output to the amplifiers. Can the I do this?
    2. In addition to digital files, I would like to use a tuner, input into the card on other analog inputs, then back out to the processor, and back in and out again. Possible?
    3. Can I do bass management to 4.0 inputs so I can do all the bass handling in the PC as opposed to the outboard processor?
    4. How about time delay for the 4 main channels?
    5. How about room eq for the 4 main channels?
    6. Is there a way to use a physical knob to control the volume assuming it can behave as a preamp?
    7. What software would allow the above, or would the included software do much if not all of these things?

    I'd really like to accomplish this. If this card won't do what I'm after, do you have any suggestions for me? Thanks, I'm eager to hear your progress.

  7. #17
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    I'd check this thread: http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/high-end-solutions/88359-software-options-for-tuning-post979553.html

    Sounds like you're wanting to do software tuning, correct?

    Regarding volume control, I'm after that feature too. I haven't gotten to the point yet of researching that option. I'd like to be able to control volume enmasse in the analog spectrum if at all possible.
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  8. #18
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    Quote Originally Posted by noxlord View Post
    You can order up to 5 "samples" of those opamp on the Ti website here

    Be shure to select the Dip8 form factor ...
    how many freebies do they give out?
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  9. #19
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by RedGTiVR6 View Post
    how many freebies do they give out?
    Up to 5 samples of any ic they produce. Burr Brown belongs to Ti now, that's why they are available throught the Ti website. You need to register and take a few steps before you can order samples. Most major Ic manifacturers send free samples to they customers.

  10. #20
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    26
    great review!

    I use an older auzentech card in my htpc (x-plosion) and like it quite a bit for that purpose and was actively considering another for the car in the future.

    Auzentechs have a bit of a following at the AVS forums so I thought I'd link 'em here for some more reading. I seem to remember someone did an comparision benchtest on one with stock and B/B opamps and there was quite a difference. If you need an analog out they're a worthy upgrade. I want to stay digital right to the decoder (reciever in the HTPCs case) so it's an irrelevant upgrade for me.

    AVS forum is here

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/index.php?

    happy new year!

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: Provision 8" 16:9 VGA Touchscreen
    By lightman in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-15-2009, 08:02 AM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 01:23 PM
  3. Hardware Review: SB Audigy2 NX External USB Sound Card
    By hari-bhari in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 03:55 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 09:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •