Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 69

Thread: Hardware Review: Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1

  1. #31
    Car Audio Moderator durwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland (St. Charles,IL)
    Posts
    2,028
    A fix for ASIO with this card for anyone interested. I was looking for some other info and ran into this. Lots of good info if you feel liek moddign the card.

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/print...7&page=4&pp=60

    No, that can't be true. I can not believe it.
    My god, actually the X-Meridian with the updated opamps sounded better than my Arcam AVP700.

    The Arcam sounded excellent but the X-Meridian is beyond excellence. I can find the words to describe the analog out of the X-Meridian. The words that come to my mind are purity, finest, crystal clear.

    No, No, No. I need more A/B test. But, so far, one thing for sure the $189+14%Taxes (CAD) x-Meridian will put back around $2000CAD in my pocket when I sell my Arcam Processor. :-)

    I solve the Asio issue. But it worth mentioning that It is actually a bug in the X-Meridian Asio driver. They have set the asio default bit depth to 24 which is imcompatible with some Asio applications. The solution for now is to find a small utility called AsioCaps in order to set the bit depth to 16-bit and latency to 4ms+

  2. #32
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    excellent find - thanks for posting

  3. #33
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500


    I've been so busy with work and what not that I haven't even touched our car since Daytona Beach and Spring Break Nationals....lol
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  4. #34
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    Red> Do you have issues with 16 vs 24 bit ASIO depth?
    Obviously it would be preferable to utilise 24bit.

  5. #35
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    Asio Caps crashes when trying to open with the x meridian- back to the drawing board.

  6. #36
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    Red> have you had any luck with X-Meridian + ASIO + Allocator? My prodigy 7.1LT is giving me a lot of grief and I was planning to upgrade to the X-Meridian.

    But there's no point if it doesnt work without LOTS of effort. Do you have audio working from your car pc atm (via ASIO/allocator)? I dont plan to use Winamp ASIO output plugin, rather prefer the idea of DIRECTWIRE which (as you know) captures all PC generated audio into the ASIO driver.

  7. #37
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    honnestly, the car has been put on the far back burner for now.

    My husband and I are going through the process to get approved to start building a house.

    Not to mention that for some reason, the HDD died on me a few weeks ago. I'm just now, today getting around to replacing it...

    This weekend we have to go to Austin to look at the two floor plans we're interested in because they don't have a house we can walk through up here in the D/FW area.

    Sorry guys!
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  8. #38
    Car Audio Moderator durwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland (St. Charles,IL)
    Posts
    2,028
    Iceman-what kind of problems is your audiotrak giving you? Just curious.

    Congrats Jan on the whole house building thing but sorry to hear about the car.

  9. #39
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    Driver Issues.

    Line in mute is still not linked to the mute on the windows mixer.
    ASIO latency has problem in the V2 0.978 release - WDM works fine, but I get constant crackles/pops when trying allocator/ASIO streams. This is unfortunate, as I think this version sounds better than 1.07a (which I have been using and am going back to).

    All drivers give me BSOD every so often (About 3 per week). Version 1.07a gives me hardly any BSOD (1/month) and the ASIO actually works. All other drivers have pops in the ASIO stream regardless of what latency I tried. I used to think this was an allocator problem - but after more tests, it seems the issue is that its the drivers themselves ....GRRRR....

    Rather than wait for these 'clowns' to release a better/fixed driver, I wanted to upgrade my card (as I had planned for that anyway - after making sure that my VST/software tuning idea could be done) to the X-Meridian. But I dont want to purchase a fantastic piece of hardware with another bag of software quirks.

  10. #40
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    I got my asio to work without crackles pops...

    Was having the same problems as you, as well has hibernate problems... but this has been solved with devcon.

    Anyway, the way to solve the asio problems is not with asio caps, but with 2 different plugins for winamp, one is the asio out dll, and the other is the asio plugin. Use the asio plugin to set the asio at 16 bit, 2-3 second latency, then use the asio out as the primary sound driver, and tick only gapless mode.

    This has worked fine for a couple of weeks .... with no crackles / pops etc.... it only stutters with too many apps running so i've solved the sound problems, however, now my processor is too slow.

    Give it a whirl

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: Provision 8" 16:9 VGA Touchscreen
    By lightman in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-15-2009, 08:02 AM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 01:23 PM
  3. Hardware Review: SB Audigy2 NX External USB Sound Card
    By hari-bhari in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 03:55 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 09:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •