Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 69

Thread: Hardware Review: Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1

  1. #51
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    Swordfishunter> Im curious as to why you are using ASIO?
    Are you doing any processing/crossovers with it?
    If not, you could always just use normal 8ch cloned output, and feed that into your passive/active amp XO's.

    Cheers
    Ice

  2. #52
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    it sounds better...

    really, clearer, cleaner, less distortion.

  3. #53
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    Also try the OPA2227 supposed to be quite a nice match for this card - nicer than the 2134.

  4. #54
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156

    Auzentech Update

    Good news

    Maybe i'm slow or something, but windows update (of all places) which I had the services disabled for faster performance... has a driver update for auzen, or rather the C media driver dated december 06 which is 2 months after both c media / and auzen's website driver...

    In this version... the asio rocks

    here's the procedure
    Get the updated driver
    install asio 4 all
    and asio caps
    then run winamp with the asio plugin.

    Crystal clear.

    This driver has also solved my hibernation issue on the m10000 with the irq's.

    Happy joy joy

  5. #55
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    So I'm guessing that now it sounds even BETTER than before.

    Why do you need ASIOcaps? What program does not like accepting 24bit?
    Using 16bit will also be lowering the sound quality, but if thats what it takes to get working then so be it. 16bit also has a lower dynamic range than 24bit. This basically acts like a compressor - which can be advantageous in a car situation, because it helps bring the slightly quieter sounds out a little louder, away from the road noise.

  6. #56
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    it does sound better. the buzzing between track selection has gone away.

    I can here celine dion gasping for air through her teeth.

    CPU usage is lower as well.

    So Ice, getting one yet??

    BTW the auzen get's hot!! real hot. just cut a hole in my casing for another fan just to be safe.

  7. #57
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    Im VERY close to getting one mate
    Got a few little things I need to suss out first.
    Depending on those responses, I'll either be ordering it straight away.. or trying to find alternate solutions and then ordering it

  8. #58
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    12
    Swordfishunter, any update on the X-meridian ASIO? Still working great? Does it only allow for playback through winamp (so no FM?)

    Thanks

  9. #59
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    No updates

    It works great with asio and asio caps, just be sure your mobo can support it, as i outlined before.

    Just installed a powermate- and recieved a *hint* of stuttering when clicking - just a touch. Other than that it's fine.

    Silabs -fm works great- btw

  10. #60
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    597
    Quote Originally Posted by Iceman_jkh View Post
    This is the reply I received when asking Auzentech tech support if they would ever create a tool similar to Audiotrak's DIRECTWIRE for their X-Meridian card:

    We are working on the 32/64bit Windows XP/Vista driver continuously.
    Currently, we do not have a plan to develop the driver for DirectWIRE.
    However, we are planning to develop the function to adjust the ASIO and discussing with CMedia.



    Whilst that doesnt actually answer my question, it does suggest there may be some effort put towards making this card natively 'play nice' with Allocator/Console
    Latest news - This feature will NOT happen . C-media arent interested in doing it.
    (Cmedia produce the chipset which the Auzentech card uses - Auzen really just uses the OEM Cmedia drivers.. kinda a shame/cop out)

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: Provision 8" 16:9 VGA Touchscreen
    By lightman in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-15-2009, 09:02 AM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 02:23 PM
  3. Hardware Review: SB Audigy2 NX External USB Sound Card
    By hari-bhari in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 04:55 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 10:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •