The MP3car.com Store  

Welcome to the MP3Car.com forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. Registering will also remove advertisements. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   MP3Car.com > General > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2004, 12:24 AM   #1
Raw Wave
 
wizardPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Nashville
Vehicle: $800 1995 Plymouth Neon
Posts: 2,649
My Photos: (0)
is there a new EBAY scam going around?

I've gotten 2 emails that appear to come from awconfirm@ebay.com, one with a title of "ebay Notification" and the other "eBay important account information"

I am suspicious because each email asks me to enter enough information to steal my ebay account. They claim that my information could not be verified "during our regular update and verification of accounts", then they ask me for my name, ebay ID & password, address, phone number, email address, etc.

If they couldnt verify my information for my account, then wouldnt they already have my ebayID and email address? All of this is put into a form inside the email, it's not a link to an Ebay site.

anybody heard of this being a scam? I'm not gonna do anything with it because if it is real, then they'll just delete my account (according to the email) and I dont use it that much.
__________________
Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
Total spent on wedding so far: $3885.79
Thanks to everyone for your support.
I'M DEBT FREE!!
wizardPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-2004, 12:31 AM   #2
Raw Wave
 
wizardPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Nashville
Vehicle: $800 1995 Plymouth Neon
Posts: 2,649
My Photos: (0)
wow, these guys are good.

I looked at the headers, and they say that they come from ebay.com, but if you lookup the IP addresses, the machines are in amsterdam and madrid.

anybody know where I can report a scam to ebay?
__________________
Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
Total spent on wedding so far: $3885.79
Thanks to everyone for your support.
I'M DEBT FREE!!
wizardPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 12:45 AM   #3
Constant Bitrate
 
SinnerG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach
Vehicle: 1998 Chevy Blazer
Posts: 213
My Photos: (0)
I've received dozens of these e-mails. Just foreward them to spoof@ebay.com . You may also get some from PayPal scammers.
SinnerG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 01:06 AM   #4
FLAC
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Washington D.C.
Vehicle: 2004 Jetta GLS TDI (biodiesel)
Posts: 1,580
My Photos: (0)
It's called phishing http://www.antiphishing.org/
Zip-Lock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 03:38 PM   #5
Constant Bitrate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio
Vehicle: Camaro z28
Posts: 138
My Photos: (0)
the paypal site does say the one way to know its a pay pal scam is that in the address line where it says lke Dear or something .... it will always be Dear FirstName LastName
__________________
1999 Camaro z28
-- Computer installed :) Phase 1
-- z28 302hp dynoed :( WAHH!!!!
jnusaira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 04:53 PM   #6
Constant Bitrate
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Vehicle: 99 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport (Black)
Posts: 204
My Photos: (0)
When is there not an eBay/PayPal scam going around?
kami333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 05:06 PM   #7
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 189
My Photos: (0)
i get the same thing eccept its paypal, asks you to put in all your personal information and it links to a website that looks like paypal.com, but its different.

some link to that fake site that steals your login and the other wants you to download some attachment. its quite interesting
Nico3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 06:30 PM   #8
Live and Kickin'
 
Arby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston
Vehicle: 2004 Mazda RX-8
Posts: 1,377
My Photos: (0)
They always use the address spoofing trick

like www.mp3car.com@www.arbytech.com

But they'll convert the real address to ascii and use like %25%43%63 so you can't see it. I get these stupid things all of the time.
__________________
www.arbybean.com
Arby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 10:41 PM   #9
FLAC
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,616
My Photos: (0)
i've never gotten one of those, and i've had both a paypal account and ebay account for over a year
bgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 11:28 PM   #10
Constant Bitrate
 
hussein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: AB, CANADA
Vehicle: 2003 Nissan Pathfinder LE
Posts: 137
My Photos: (0)
yea, me too, over a year though. maybe its a good thing we arent on those lists. haha.
hussein is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-2004, 08:40 AM   #11
Constant Bitrate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio
Vehicle: Camaro z28
Posts: 138
My Photos: (0)
what ****es me off ... is i FINALLLLLY got tired of ALLLLL the spam ... so i was like . damn ... joes a genius .... he shall do this .. i'll make a new domain name ... and then use various identies to login with ... a month ago .... NOW .... to my avail!!! i am already gettign spammed off the one. ( i have a joseph@ and an online@ ...) ...

.... ah but now ... my NEWEST PLAN!!! its sheer genius .... i am going to get rid of the online at .. and just do @online.companyname.com ... then everything before that will be based off the siet in question .. sOOOOO then i may be able to figure out which loser site i go to got my name ....
__________________
1999 Camaro z28
-- Computer installed :) Phase 1
-- z28 302hp dynoed :( WAHH!!!!
jnusaira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 01:33 PM   #12
Live and Kickin'
 
Arby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston
Vehicle: 2004 Mazda RX-8
Posts: 1,377
My Photos: (0)
I do the same thing, jnusaira. Any email @arbytech.com gets forwarded to my main account. Whenever I sign up for something, I use companyname @ arbytech.com so I know who's sending me spam.
__________________
www.arbybean.com
Arby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 02:42 PM   #13
MySQL Error
MatrixPC's CarPC Specs
 
MatrixPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Beach City, Socal
Vehicle: 89 Supra Turbo, 04 Toyota Matrix XR
Posts: 4,032
My Photos: (0)
One more interesting trick is that they make it like sending from ebay(the trick is NOT from ebay). I got couple email which is a reply to "Question to seller". The body of the message is almost identical to typical ebay question to seller email respond.
At the end of the message there is regular link to "To view the item" the url is encoded to number and % sign which ip address. After decode the url and nslookup, it go to some dial-up/dsl/cable number from charter.com like xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.something.charter.com. The page will be display is the ebay item number.html
When I first get the email, and found the link is weird so I go direct to ebay and login to see the the account activity for the pass 30 day (I thought that the accout could be hijack). Nothing happen. That is good.
A word of advice, do not click on anylink you get from email or any form, just go directly to the website and find out from there.
__________________
2004 Matrix XR A7N8X-VM/400 AMD XP-M 2500+, DS-ATX
89 Supra Turbo P3 600E@750/Abit BE6 II, Alpine M-BUS Car2PC.
Y2K Accord Dell GX150
RoadRunner is the best FE PERIOD
EmoRebellion is a SCAMMER

Last edited by MatrixPC; 03-05-2004 at 02:44 PM.
MatrixPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop from ebay hijinks21 Off Topic 9 01-21-2004 09:56 PM
Ebay Scam Darkstar757 Off Topic 3 08-21-2002 12:08 PM
Datalux 10.4 inch touchscreens on ebay! smoothswiss Classified Archive 0 02-27-2002 02:47 PM
Good stuff on ebay Scrapez General Hardware Discussion 3 01-27-2002 07:22 PM
ebay scam??????? mikeinsanmarcos Off Topic 18 08-26-2001 11:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Sponsored Links
The MP3car.com Store

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2008 Mp3Car.com Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Message Board Statistics