Mp3car Home Page The mp3Car.com Forums The mp3Car.com Store The mp3Car.com Blog About mp3Car.com    

Sponsored links

Go Back   MP3Car.com > General > Mp3car Forum Suggestions/Comments

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2008, 01:28 PM   #31
FLAC
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,287
Quote: Originally Posted by W6-Ryan View Post
Unfortunately UCE-Protect is an extortion service and commonly do this and blacklist an entire network in order to force that network to pay to be unlisted. We'll do everything we can to be unlisted from UCEProtect but we will not, under any circumstances, pay to be removed from their list.

Our recomendation is that you contact your ISP and instruct them not to use UCEProtect as it isn't a spam protection service but an extortion service that blindly blacklists very very large networks.

Thanks for the info, I'll take it back to network solutions. In the likely case that they tell me to pack sand, I suppose I'll be packing up and moving somewhere else. Goodie, then I get to learn how to move a domain name and any/all related joys. I'm sure there are plenty of comparable, simple web hosting/email services.

Last edited by h3rk; 08-16-2008 at 01:56 PM.
h3rk is offline  
Sponsored links
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Old 08-16-2008, 07:10 PM   #32
FLAC
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,287
Quote:
Thank you for contacting Network Solutions. We are committed to creating the best customer experience possible. One of the first ways we can demonstrate our commitment to this goal is to quickly and efficiently handle your recent request.



We do apologized if your having issue sending with your webmail. Our abuse department is currently working with UCEPROTECT to have the blocked remove.

We are currently experiencing an issue with delivery of email to Clients using UCEPROTECT Spam Filters. Our engineers are working diligently to resolve this issue and waiting for a response from UCEPROTECT. We apologize for the delay and any inconvenience this may cause".

I have to admit, I wasn't expecting that. I called and bluntly asked them to quit using UCEPROTECT, or otherwise find a way to support me getting email from my favorite forum, giving them a link to this thread, and I got this email. I was expecting something early to mid next week or so.

Thanks for that insight W6-Ryan.
h3rk is offline  
Old 08-16-2008, 07:19 PM   #33
Mp3Car Staff
 
Fiberoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1978
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 737
I don't know how true it is and it seems slightly biased but there is an interesting wiki article here:

http://wiki.openrbl.org/wiki/Talk:UCEProtect
__________________
Mp3Car official store http://www.mp3car.com/store/

Private messages off. Please e-mail using the e-mail fiberoptic link. This goes to my personal inbox.
Fiberoptic is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 12:00 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by W6-Ryan View Post
Unfortunately UCE-Protect is an extortion service and commonly do this and blacklist an entire network in order to force that network to pay to be unlisted. We'll do everything we can to be unlisted from UCEProtect but we will not, under any circumstances, pay to be removed from their list.

I'm not responsible for UCEPROTECT's policies, but i work at their hotline.

It seems the problem is GNAX once again hosting lots of spammers.

Have a look at the IP's which are causing the problem and see what you get as PTR's:

http://www.uceprotect.net/en/rblcheck.php?asn=3595

Scroll down complete to see the IP's which got listed at Level 1 and so causing the problem.

So lets see some of the IP's and decide what it is:

63.247.64.65 mail1.awesomemktg.net
63.247.64.66 mail2.awesomemktg.net
and so on some hundrets more of that one..

Now lets look to whom you can say THANK YOU for being listed:

Domain Name: awesomemktg.net
Registrar: Name.com LLC

Expiration Date: 2009-04-28 00:00:00
Creation Date: 2008-04-28 16:06:07

Name Servers:
ns1.awesomemktg.net
ns2.awesomemktg.net

REGISTRANT CONTACT INFO
Inet Advertising
Domain Administrator
234 Morrell Rd.
Suite 160
Knoxville
TN
37919
US
Phone: +1.6155126750
Email Address: inetadvertising.admin@gmail.com

63.247.64.100

and let's see who is that:

Domain Name: differentmktg.net
Registrar: Name.com LLC

Expiration Date: 2009-04-28 00:00:00
Creation Date: 2008-04-28 16:06:08

Name Servers:
ns1.differentmktg.net
ns2.differentmktg.net

REGISTRANT CONTACT INFO
Inet Advertising
Domain Administrator
234 Morrell Rd.
Suite 160
Knoxville
TN
37919
US
Phone: +1.6155126750
Email Address: inetadvertising.admin@gmail.com

Lets pick another IP from that space ...

63.247.95.100 mail4.mailingsforconsumers.net

Domain Name: mailingsforconsumers.net
Registrar: Name.com LLC

Expiration Date: 2009-04-13 00:00:00
Creation Date: 2008-04-13 16:33:56

Name Servers:
ns2.mailingsforconsumers.net
ns1.mailingsforconsumers.net

REGISTRANT CONTACT INFO
Inet Advertising
Domain Administrator
234 Morrell Rd.
Suite 160
Knoxville
TN
37919
US
Phone: +1.6155126750
Email Address: inetadvertising.admin@gmail.com

Quote: Originally Posted by W6-Ryan View Post
Our recomendation is that you contact your ISP and instruct them not to use UCEProtect as it isn't a spam protection service but an extortion service that blindly blacklists very very large networks.


I recommend that you youse your brain and investigate first before claiming others extortion racketeers, if you don't want to be called a spamsupporter.

If you will do the work and have a look to that list above then you will find that GNAX did lease some hundret IP's to a well known spammer.

Claiming they would not have known about that is futile.

The PTR's given should have been warning enough to know that it will be no brave customer.

All of the domains within the complete Listings were registered less than 3 month ago and for only one reason - spamming.

Spammers lie and so does GNAX.

GNAX wants YOUR money, but they also want spammers money.
They did exactly knew that they will end up in UCEPROTECT-Level 3 again if they will give complete /24 Networks to spammers again as they did it one year ago too.

Just google for GNAX and UCEPROTECT and you will find the old thread.

You should search for better uplinks.

Companies as Microsoft do exactly know why they are using UCEPROTECT and you will not get them to drop us, because UCEPROTECT works for them.

Have a look at AL IVERSON's independant staistics:

http://stats.dnsbl.com/uce3.html

That translates to: UCEPROTECT-Level 3 (which lists complete providers) has blocked about 40% spammails, but less than 0.3% false positives

Could that mean that those some hundret providers which manage to end up in Level 3 are responsible for 40% of the globval spam, but less than 0,3% real mail came from their networks and ranges?
warpdrive is offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 04:19 PM   #35
Admin. Don't bug or I'll byte.
 
Bugbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Corning, NY
Posts: 4,866
mp3Car has changed I.P. addresses to fix this issue. Resolution is in this thread: http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/mp3c...ip-change.html

Closing this thread.
__________________
-Where in the world is the iBug?
-Find out about theiBug
-Attention Newbies! Have you seen the FAQ Emporium?
-No time to figure it out? Take 5 minutes to view the Car PC 101 video
Bugbyte is offline  
Sponsored links
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent email notifications? MikeH Mp3car Forum Suggestions/Comments 5 04-26-2004 06:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright © 1999 - 2008 Mp3Car.com Inc.Ad Management by RedTyger
Message Board Statistics