Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 123456789101112 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 210

Thread: 2007 Ford F350 Crew Cab Build

  1. #11
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    Ok, so just a quick update. Last night I repositioned the OBD port to point towards the front of the vehicle instead of down towards the floor. There was already an "L" bracket on it with holes on both edges so it was literally <5mins. I unscrewed 2 screws, repositioned it and put the screws back in. This means the OBDLink connector will not be hanging down in the footwell. Now I just have to figure out how to keep the OBDlink from staying powered when the vehicle is off.

    Before:



    After:





    Also I started investgating why the centre channel will not work. I have narrowed it down that there is no output from the sound processor to the amp for the centre channel.
    The next step will be to see if the X-fi is outputing this signal to the processor.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  2. #12
    Mod - iPad Forums RipplingHurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Danville, CA
    Posts
    2,161
    Cool, thanks for the pics. If you don't have enough room behind the dash, maybe instead of the fiberglass you could use the under seat console floor instead and screew everything in there? You can build wall to mount things sideways too, to save some room. I suppose you can run a lot of those wires under the carpet too, of under/closer to the door seals? It's important to try soon to trouble shoot sound interference and the needed cable lengths too.

    Good job with the pictures, makes it easy to visualize everything. Good luck returning the power supply.

    PS. Don't forget to warn the service guys about the repositioned OBD plug, that's the first thing they'll look for. Might save some extra time of service if you unplugg everything they're going to use. Just a thought.

    Keep us posted, thanks!

  3. #13
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    Thanks for the feedback,

    I will need to remove the middle seat soon and set the sub box up there and see what I am dealing with for space. I like the idea of having most of the stuff in the console because it will go right up to the dash so wire transfer from the dash to the components will be hidden plus both seats are power so space is pretty limited under there.
    Good point about mounting things sideways, that might be a good option for the plexiglass power supply/USB panel.
    As far as wiring interference, I probably should get everything close to it's final resting place first but so far it does appear that I may be getting some noise from plugging in the Mitch Gadget Sirius translator but I'm not sure yet.

    Their response on the power supply was "we build the ID into the connector tip". I sent them back a lengthly response but have heard nothing back. I have cut it up so I don't have much of a leg to stand on. Oh well. I order & received another 110v supply yesterday (they have become really cheap) so I can work with the laptop out of the truck again.

    On the OBD connector, my own dealer won't care but if I am travelling and have an issue, I think I would move it back before taking the truck in since it's only 2 screws anyways.
    Last edited by PhilG; 12-14-2011 at 03:18 PM.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  4. #14
    Raw Wave treetop777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    War-Town, GA.
    Posts
    2,233
    Lookin' good! I'm not familiar with the dash of the f350 but i assume it's BIG! - surely there's somewhere else you could put the head unit; it detracts from an otherwise clean install (IMO).
    ****************************************
    OLD SYSTEM (DEAD)
    Intel D945GCLF2 Dual Core ATOM
    Lilliput 7" 629GL 2008 LED Backlight
    BU-353 USB GPS Receiver / iGuidance / IGO8
    M2-ATX Power Supply
    RideRunner Front End / Various Skins
    Windows XP SP3

  5. #15
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    Thanks for the feedback treetop777. Your right, the Alpine controller is a poor installation. I thought I mentioned with that pic that it was a temp location, but I didn't. It is getting installed in the new console once it is built. This is only a temp install for testing.

    So I ordered 3 USB pass through ports for dash/ console mounting. These are a Neutrik piece and very well built. The black housing is actually metal. I was expecting plastic. These are reversible as well for both types of USB. They are 4.95 Cdn a piece which I thought was reasonable given the price of most of the stuff for our hobby and they shipped from Toronto which makes shipping reasonable for us Canucks.




    I drove my first 600 or so km. with the carputer installed. Everything operated pretty much as expected except for shutdown, I think I need to modify a setting in CF because it was hanging on shutdown. I have very little ground loop noise even given the horrific temp install of the amps & processor.

    I would have to say my biggest disappointment so far is the readability of the screen in sunlight. If anyone has any knowledge on colours/ hues that react better in sunlight than others, this would be great info to have and my skin selection would be biased heavily towards choosing those colours even if it wasn't my favorite design.
    I hope Fluxmedia pays attention to this issue when they release CF 3.2 and maximize the ability of these screens with their standard skin.
    Last edited by PhilG; 12-14-2011 at 03:21 PM.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  6. #16
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987

    GPS Performance

    I just drove another 600km, and needed the GPS to locate a hotel. I could not keep the port running with Xport. It kept dropping the antenna. Keeping the green dot on the left side of the Xport window seemed to work OK. Trying to keep the right side green where it is ported to seems to be more difficult.

    I have two questions:


    1) Can anyone recommend a better solution to Xport?

    2) If I switch to Garmin, are there advantages of buying the bundle with receiver and ditching the BU-353?


    On the issue of CF hanging on shut down; I forgot to set in the CF menus, for it to close CF when power was lost. If seems to be shutting down great now.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  7. #17
    Mod - iPad Forums RipplingHurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Danville, CA
    Posts
    2,161
    I would try putting the GPS antenna outside first. Just because some OEM and your Alpine antenna worked inside, doesn't mean the BU-353 will work.

    I have a Garmin GPS 18 (5Hz) which works great on the outside (I put the antenna by the windshield wipers on my FX). It simply refused to work nicely inside. However, the OEM Nav GPS is located under the dash.

    I bought a Qstartz BT890 bluetooth/USB gps for the Sequoia and couldn't be happier. It works everywhere. Much more sensitive than any GPS I've seen (due to the more recent chipset). It works inside the glove compartment, inside the console, in your pocket it doesn't matter.

    I also believe there's a load of drivers for the BU-353 (from the manufacturer, the chipset maker, etc.) so maybe you can try another set?

    I also use Xport with both, with no issues. Do you use a low enough COM port with your application? Like 3/4/5? I think that helps. With CF I use port 5/6 I think, with no problems.

    I don't know about the newest Garmin, but I really don't rate my old garmin USB 18 at all. Garmin is really slow writing drivers. I had XP drivers working well, than Vista came and I had to wait a long time for proper drivers, and even more so for Windows 7. The first win7 driver they issues gave me BSODs at boot, so I reverted to MS ones for months. It has been working since beginning 2010, but not after resume. Pretty poor from Garmin.

  8. #18
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    Thanks for the info on my questions RipplingHurst.

    I did not explain my problem correctly when I said "dropping the antenna". When I would go back to the Xport window, I would still see the stream of data at the bottom, it just was not outputting it the virtual port. I was also having issues with Xport just cashing randomly and the error message popping up. That issue seems to have gone away for now. That one may have been related to a weak signal when the antenna was set up in my office initially, I'm not sure.

    I am using a single digit port, I believe it's set to 2/6.

    Thanks for the heads up on the drivers for the BU-353, I will check that out.

    I did some research on the Centrafuse Forums and came up with this that I think I will try:

    "I have same problem with X-Port. Now Im using VSPE from Eterlogic.com
    and it works perfekt. 32 bit Version is free. For the 64 bit Version you must buy a licence. I have the 32bit Version since May 2009 without any problems in use with Centrafuse and Garmin Mobile PC."

    As far as Garmin goes, I may give it a try as Destinator doesn't exactly thrill me but it's not a priority right now.
    Last edited by PhilG; 12-14-2011 at 03:23 PM.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  9. #19
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Plymouth , MN
    Posts
    323
    PhilG
    I use the BU-353 with Garmin Mobile PC and the Garmin mobile PC plugin for Centrafuse.
    I've been running it for a bit on my test laptop which I connect to a docking station under my seat. So far it has never dropped. Not once since I started testing. You should know that the Garmin mobile PC plugin give you an on screen keyboard to input destination and such into GMPC so no need for a keyboard. Lastly I love the fact that you can move the navigation from the foreground and have something else on screen. Whe you get to a point where it has to announce something it mutes CF and the maps pop up to give you visual as well as audible directions. . Just my 2 cents.
    2002 Chevrolet Avalanche
    Gigabyte Z97 mITX Intel Mobo, 8GB RAM, Intel Core i5-4590S 3.0GHz Proc, 320 GB Hard Drive, Dual 12' VGA HDMI DVI touchscreen monitors,....
    http://www.mp3car.com/show-off-your-...avalanche.html

  10. #20
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    Thanks Dluvr22. I guess I will go software only. I believe if I buy the bundle with the antenna, the licence is tied to the antenna so if I want to switch back to the BU-353, no can do. The software only ties it to the PC I think which I hope does not need replacing anytime soon.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

Similar Threads

  1. 2005 Ford F350, First timer!
    By jdc753 in forum Worklogs
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-11-2012, 01:33 PM
  2. XR-Lane's NF Ford Fairlane Build
    By XRLane in forum Worklogs
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 05:19 PM
  3. Newbie Ford Explorer 12.1" center conole build.
    By PandaBearBG in forum Fabrication
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 08:00 AM
  4. GoogleEarth GPSR Tracking
    By briefnotion in forum GPS
    Replies: 117
    Last Post: 09-11-2007, 07:32 PM
  5. Indexing music in 1.0.9.8 Failed
    By hovalistic in forum StreetDeck
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2007, 11:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •