Page 8 of 21 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415161718 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 210

Thread: 2007 Ford F350 Crew Cab Build

  1. #71
    Newbie Berber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    23
    Hi PhilG,

    Good to hear from you again.
    So tell me, what have you done, or decided to do, about the console being too high?

    I have been using my carputer for some time now and have enjoyed it so far. Garmin Mobile PC is much better than Destinator IMHO.
    I have problems with the bluetooth not always initializing when the carputer resumes from hibernation. I have gone down the same path as you and shut it down instead. Since I have a SSD my carputer boots up Windows 7 and has Centrafuse running in around half a minute so I can live with that.

    Take care, Berber

  2. #72
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Plymouth , MN
    Posts
    322
    Berber I know this is off PhilG's topic but I had similar problems instead it was with my WiFi card.
    I resorted to shutting down and restarting but I just could not let it stop nagging me that it was not working as it should.
    It turns out that Windows 7 has a selective suspend setting for USB.
    Just go to your advanced power setting and you can change the USB suspend settings so that the Bluetooth device does not completely loose power when the computer hibernates.
    Once that is done, your Bluetooth device should resume from suspend or hibernation.

    Just my 2 cents though
    2002 Chevrolet Avalanche
    Zotac NForce 610i ITX, 2GB RAM, 2.6 GHz Intel Pentium Dual Core CPU, 320 GB Hard Drive, 12' VGA touchscreen monitor, 3D mouse
    My Worklog : http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/work...avalanche.html

  3. #73
    Newbie Berber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    23
    Hi Dluvr22,

    Thanks for the info on the selective suspend setting, someting I didn't know about so I it didn't even enter my head to try it.
    I had a look on my desktop to see what you were talking about and there it was. Two settings, enabled or disabled, and it was enabled. So my guess is enabled is set by default so I would have to change it to disabled on my carputer. So next time I go out to the car I will give it a go.

    Thanks again and sorry to PhilG for using his thread, hope you don't mind PhilG.

    Cheers, Berber

  4. #74
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    Berber: I'm really glad you didn't give up on the carpc and thats great that it's working so well for you. Regarding the console height, the 2" will come from the top section where the storage bucket is but I have no solid plan until I get into the garage and try a couple of things first.

    With regard to the shutting down vs hibernating, I have added a second switch that will B+ to the acc circuit so if the truck is going to be parked for a couple of hours or less, I turn that switch on and backfeed the acc. circuit to keep it live. This solution has worked well for me mainly because when the truck leaves the driveway, it quite often will not get shut off for 12 hours anyways. If I stop for fuel , coffee, etc, I enable the pitstop feature on the remote start, take the keys, and turn on the alarm. Especially this time of year, the turbo is too hot to shut it off for 10min anyways if I am pulling a trailer.

    Dluvr22: great input on the W7 USB suspend setting. The problem is you are just adding to my desire to upgrade to W7 My only concern is drivers for the HP laptop, I guess I need to investigate that on the HP site.

    I think I can actually get to the garage to work today for a while, I just received the box of parts to add an aftermarket radio into the Camaro and lose the Bose headunit. I have a JVC KDAVX11 laying around so I think I will see if I can make that fit. I may also try to install the power inverter in the truck, I now have the correct switch to remotely turn if on and off.

    Have a great weekend
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  5. #75
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987

    Updating Sirius Tuner

    My SC-C1 tuner died so I decided to replace it with the home version, the SC-H1.

    This gives me L-R RCA outputs instead of a 3.5mm jack which I always find gets loose and noisy. It also gives me optical out which ultimately I would like to use.

    So the tuner installed fine, I just had to replace the 12v supply on Mitch's translator box to a 5v supply directly to the tuner. That was the easy part.

    I then opened Satamp and it connected and streamed the channels instantly.

    The biggest issue right now is Centrafuse won't recognize this tuner so I guess I will post asking for help on the appropriate forum here and over at CF.

    After further research, connecting it directly to the Alpine processor optically will be a challenge. I did connect it temporarily by disconnecting the PC optical in and there was a definite improvement in SQ over a 3.5mm jack going to the sound card, then through the PC and on to the processor. The problem is switching within the processor; it has to be done manually if more than one source is connected to it. That's not going to work.

    So I think the final answer will be to replace the X-fi with something that has optical in and out.



    Here is how it is setup right now:



    I have also been dealing with really poor SQ in the last few weeks. All of a sudden the sound quality of my mp3 music went right to hell and I don't know why. I even formatted the PC this weekend and reinstalled everything. The Sat radio still sounds fine. I don't know if it's a sound card hardware issue, software issue or what. I will do some more testing tonight to try to trouble shoot it.
    It basically sounds like the speakers are being over driven even at a low volume and when I look at the view meters on the Processor controller, they are indicating a very low level input similar to if the volume was turned down low on the PC. Maybe the sound card is on it's way out, who knows.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  6. #76
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    As an aside, I have not completely been sitting on my thunb this summer, I replaced my roll around compressor with this old beast. It runs great, doesn't leak, has clean oil in it and came with a new Magnetic starter switch (they aren't cheap). I added a dissedent filter for painting (the yellow piece mounted on the wall) and a rapid air kit to give me several outlets around the garage.






    So now I can paint without air supply issues. I just need time.
    Last edited by PhilG; 06-17-2013 at 08:24 AM.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  7. #77
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    I think I have got to the root of my SQ problem. It appears the X-overs on the front speakers are toast so I finally decided to take the time to do an active front stage (which I had been putting off for some time).
    I have spent the last couple of evenings running an additional set of wires out to the doors for the tweeters, then wiring up a harness in the console to house a small Pioneer amp that was kicking around to power them. The system sounds much better however it now needs to be tuned more than ever!

    Here is the amp I used:



    Here is were I located it for now:




    A couple of notes on speakers in doors - Doors are not a great home for speakers, they are damp, there are moving parts in them, they get slammed shut jolting things. If you are deciding on a location for speakers and are not restricted to doors, choose elsewhere.

    If you do have to use the doors and you are installing components with X-overs, take the time to run the extra wire inside the vehicle and mount them in a safe dry place. The sad part of my original install was I took the time to run new wire out to the doors and eliminate the factory spagetti wiring yet never sent the second wire out with it.

    I then proceeded to install the X-overs in the doors and zip tie them to a brace in the door. The problem was there is a telescoping arm (seen at the bottom of the below pic with a grommet around it) that intrudes into the door space as if collaspes when the door is closed. The first time I closed the door, it nailed the plastic X-over case. I removed the X-over, opened it up and found the board had been cracked. I soldered together a couple of broken traces on the board and they worked fine for the next 4+ years.
    Now the wire terminals are rusted and who knows what happened inside them but they are toast.

    In the below pic, you will see how I added an extra piece of loom during the original install for the new speaker wire, I should have run the second wire at the same time. On my last 3 Superdutys, the factory wiring was run old school through a similar large boot but in through a grommet, no problem to add wires to that.

    By 2005, Ford had changed the grommet system for a connector right in the side of the cab so no wires could be added. My solution has worked perfect though; I have never had a wire or moisture issues from adding the additional loom. There was a factory grommet in the side of the cab that was unused (probably from the 2004 & older setup, the cab stamping has not chaned since 1999) so I routed the wires through it.

    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  8. #78
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    I knocked off a couple more items on the list

    >Installed Inverter with remote Switch
    >Installed rear 12VDC power ports with switch

    Here is the inverter installed under rear seat. Notice the crack in the seat skirt- this is the result of taking the lazy way out and using body filler for an application it's not designed for. We all seem to have to try it once and find out it does NOT replace fiberglass. It's for skim coats only!!



    Here is the switch for inverter installed to the top right of the console.



    Here is the drivers side power port added which is useful for rear passenger to charge devices etc. or for me to reach in and plug in a trouble light to use outside the truck.



    Here is the passenger side port which will be very useful for me. My cooler can stay plugged into it without having to string a wire up to the front and have something plugged into the dash all the time (I hate that). Also both of these ports are switched by the extra switch I added to the switch panel (top left of the console in the second pic). So I don't have to unplug it anymore unless I am removing the cooler for a passenger.



    This is the original fuse block I installed when the PC was added last year and it is really starting to show it's value. It was very easy just to run the power wire (the green one) up to it from the switch for the power ports, and plug it in then add 1 more fuse for that circuit. I did the same thing to power the small Pioneer amp added last week. So simple once the block is installed.

    Eventually when I rewire everything on the final install, that block will be fed off of the distribution panel under the rear seat so basically everything I have added to the truck will all be powered from one additional line from the battery and I can remove any extra smaller gage cables that have been added along the way.



    Thanks for looking!
    Last edited by PhilG; 03-04-2014 at 04:10 PM.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  9. #79
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    987
    Here's another small project i completed while waiting for the right time to gut the inside and finish the console.

    I added puddle lights to the front doors. Yes I have stepped in rather deep puddles getting out of the truck several times so they are functional!









    Thanks for looking!
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  10. #80
    Raw Wave treetop777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    War-Town, GA.
    Posts
    2,233
    Quote Originally Posted by PhilG View Post

    puddle lights
    Is that what they are called really! Looks good!
    ****************************************
    OLD SYSTEM (DEAD)
    Intel D945GCLF2 Dual Core ATOM
    Lilliput 7" 629GL 2008 LED Backlight
    BU-353 USB GPS Receiver / iGuidance / IGO8
    M2-ATX Power Supply
    RideRunner Front End / Various Skins
    Windows XP SP3

Similar Threads

  1. 2005 Ford F350, First timer!
    By jdc753 in forum Worklogs
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-11-2012, 01:33 PM
  2. XR-Lane's NF Ford Fairlane Build
    By XRLane in forum Worklogs
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 05:19 PM
  3. Newbie Ford Explorer 12.1" center conole build.
    By PandaBearBG in forum Fabrication
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 08:00 AM
  4. GoogleEarth GPSR Tracking
    By briefnotion in forum GPS
    Replies: 117
    Last Post: 09-11-2007, 07:32 PM
  5. Indexing music in 1.0.9.8 Failed
    By hovalistic in forum StreetDeck
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2007, 11:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •