Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 72
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: 2013 F350 Supercab Dually Flatbed

  1. #1
    Low Bitrate Rickk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    109

    2013 F350 Supercab Dually Flatbed

    "Darn", I've got a long ways to go here. The truck isn't even ordered yet. I'll be ordering it in the next couple weeks I believe. A 2013 F350 dually Supercab "ChassisCab". I'll be putting a 10 foot aluminum stake body on it when it arrives. My last (current) truck is a 2000 F350 dually flatbed - I've been down this road before but that was before Carputers (Truckputers?) were realistically practical.

    Anyway, I have been shopping for accessories already, waiting for my tax refund (AKA "down payment" to arrive).

    I am a ham radio operator, and also have a commercial two way radio license for my farm, so there will be some ICOM radios (computer programmed) being installed. The mandatory CB radio (it's a pickup truck) as well.

    So far, the little brown truck of happiness has brought me a Black Box mobile ITX chassis and a M2 Power Supply, A motherboard an i5 processor and a 256 Gig SSD drive should show up in the next few days as well. I already have a GPS unit, a Directed HD radio, an Alfa WiFi unit, and some 12 volt USB hubs. I think there are some other things coming too... I order lots of stuff on impulse on ebay ;-)

    I build military electronics for a living, and have done a lot of prototype stuff for the power system on the Navistar MRAP vehicles, so this is all gunna be fun.

    Anyway, here is the first of many pictures that I expect to be posting in the next several months. I have many cans of Camo spray paint in my shed and I'm not afraid to use it....




    Some day this will be a picture of an entire #13,000 # GVW pickup

    Rick
    Last edited by Rickk; 02-18-2013 at 02:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Low Bitrate Rickk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    109
    The little brown truck of happiness came Tuesday night and I had a couple of hours to play with what came...


    The first problem was that with the SSD drive mounted to the Black Box mounting plate the drive was so flush to the plate that the cables wouldn't fit. I guess that normally in a hard disk tray they would hang of the back of the mounting plate but that doesn't happen here.

    My solution was to lay down something like 20 layers of Aluminum Tape to raise the drive up about 1/8 of an inch or so....






    Problem solved...





    I was drinking Nyquil to deal with a cold, so there was only far I could go before things got confusing and bed seemed like a better idea.

    This is where I left off...



    BTW, I still haven't picked a monitor or a monitor mounting bracket for it. Looking for a touchscreen that will fit in the space where the radio normally goes. I believe the 2013's are only similar to the 3-4 years proceeding it. If anyone has been down this F350 road with a recent vintage truck I would love options/suggestions as to what works.


    Rick

  3. #3
    Low Bitrate Rickk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    109
    I spent some time neatening things up last night...







    I thought I had a "P4 Cable", but it didn't have the right gender on one end. If luck is with me, I will have one by Saturday and be able to try to boot it up and load WinDoze 7.

  4. #4
    Low Bitrate Rickk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    109
    Picked up a 105 AH battery at Tractor Supply tonight. I will use it to debug the truck-puter, but ultimately it will go into the new truck as an auxiliary battery. Plenty of room to mount such things on the frame rail under the bed.

    PowerWerx ( http://www.powerwerx.com/emergency-vehicle/ ) has the needed battery isolators, automatic power switches in their "Emergency Vehicles" section. I am going to use one of their battery isolators to connect/disconnect the auxiliary battery. There are many cool advantages to a separate battery. No voltage sag during engine start. No crazy transients when the starter disengages. No chance of killing the primary battery by accident and not being able to start the truck. They carry the line of "Anderson Power Products" connectors for decent interconnection of wires. They also carry programmable voltage sensitive relays to automatically disconnect loads before the battery gets drained.

    In my last truck build, after a few years I started having issues with corroded wiring and intermittent connections ... a real pita. I learned a lot while working on military trucks the past few years. I am going to mostly marine grade wiring products. It is usually crazy expensive, but I found a reasonably priced source at " http://shop.genuinedealz.com " . Marine grade wire has tin plated copper strands (no green corrosion after a while). The interconnect terminals are made the same way (tin plated copper). They also carry "double walled shrink tubing" - the inner wall is actually hot melt glue, so when you shrink the wire it glues itself to the wire... seals nicely.

    Another thing I learned a lot about over the last few years is the issues dealing with galvanic induced corrosion due to contact of dissimilar metals. Aluminum, copper, and steel (especially stainless steel) do not always play well together. For instance, stainless bolts can eat aluminum parts in short order. I have been stockpiling lots of nylon and rubber isolators to keep different metals apart. Each fastener installation becomes a conscious thought process if you want long term reliability.

    The last think I want to do is to have to do something over again a few year later.

    Rick

  5. #5
    Low Bitrate Rickk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    109
    More progress today.

    Loaded Windows 7

    I also loaded Centrafuse Demo and it seemed to run.

    Then I licensed Centrafuse and it stopped running. No idea why.

    Rick

    update: It appears I mistyped the hardware ID during the licensing process. All better now.
    Last edited by Rickk; 03-04-2013 at 05:03 PM. Reason: addtioanl info

  6. #6
    Low Bitrate Rickk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    109
    Well, the weekend was a rollercoaster of ups and downs. Things went well, then they didn't , then they did, etc.

    As of late last night, it seemed stable and I had the box buttoned up....





    The plan is to plug in a few more devices this week and get them all working.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    12
    You a contractor or DA? (Range Extension Platoon Leader here).

    Following your thread.

  8. #8
    Low Bitrate Rickk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    109
    PapaChop, I work for a major defense contractor. I design power supplies, mostly for military use.

    I have several of my designs on MRAP vehicles.

    Also, if you have ever used a PVS-7 or PVS-14 or ANVIS, depending on vintage you were holding something with a power supply in it that either I designed, or it is at least based on my original design.

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Rickk View Post
    PapaChop, I work for a major defense contractor. I design power supplies, mostly for military use.

    I have several of my designs on MRAP vehicles.

    Also, if you have ever used a PVS-7 or PVS-14 or ANVIS, depending on vintage you were holding something with a power supply in it that either I designed, or it is at least based on my original design.
    Nice - we have both 7s and 14s.

  10. #10
    Low Bitrate Rickk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    109
    I guess it would be helpful to the next person to talk about all the stupid things that I am going thru during this build.

    The first one, which (per a search on MP3CAR.COM, other people have had happen)...

    I had Centrafuse working in 30 day demo mode perfectly. I created a license file and loaded it and it stopped working all together.

    When I worked for the post office, and my mother worked there too (in charge of regional training for New England), I found out that the reason why a zip code has 5 digits is that the odds of a data entry error for 5 digits is only 10%, and with 6 digits it goes up to 50%.

    Anyway, I typed in a wrong digit while entering the 4 thousand digit hardware ID and the license I created was for someone else's computer.

    Before you hit enter, check it a few times. read it forward, and also read it backward. Do that twice each way.

    When you create a license, your Centrafuse account will tell you the hardware ID that it was created for. If you create a license and it doesn't work, recheck your hardware ID against the one that the license was issued to.

    Anyway... the second license I created had all the right numbers and Centrafuse works just fine.
    sebberry likes this.

Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 94 Ford ranger supercab 4x4
    By duster in forum Show off your project
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2009, 01:04 AM
  2. 2005 FX4 SuperCab - My first bezel!!!
    By stavrosg in forum Show off your project
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 10:45 PM
  3. My latest creation, GMC Dually
    By Vinister in forum Show off your project
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 04-05-2006, 03:37 PM
  4. Towing a car on a flatbed trailer
    By binary.h4x in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-11-2004, 03:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •