Page 4 of 21 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 206

Thread: Ford F6 Tornado Project Log

  1. #31
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    649
    Over here the PSU is fitted - I have to admit that the finish on this case is superb, everything fits, no off-center holes, nada.....very decent....



    Another angle...



    Here's 2 shots of the optical drive, a slotload Panasonic DVR-K05





    Here's a few shots with the motherboard, tray, and frontpanel seperate, and fitted.....








    Here's a couple of shots showing the ArcadeVGA PCI-Express GFX card......necessitating the new case of course




  2. #32
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    649
    And a few shots showing a mockup of internals, without gfx - front:





    From the rear.....



    And here with the GFX fitted, to show where it goes....



    Temporary atx cable, modified to supply SATA-and Optical drive power - please take note all these will be replaced with a special ATX "flatcable" I will make up, as that was the reason for mounting the M2-ATX upside down - the 2 connectors are opposite each other, I was quite lucky here, so the ATX -cable will be approximately 3-4cm long.....



    and my little gas blowtorch for doing the heatshrink - yes, even on a temp cable



    Temporary power- and signal cables connected - as mentioned, don't worry about the mess for now, it will be sorted...


    As mentioned, Hoojum did a great job on the design of this case, and components - here is a collection of the little DC Power mounting plates that fits to the rear lid - you mount your DC receptacle here, and bolt it to the backlid....


  3. #33
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    649
    Again, this is a temporary one to accept the DC powerbrick I am using for setup, testing etc.....I will have an Industrial lockable unit that will go here when the unit goes into the car....here is a shot with the backlid fitted, without fan for now......



    For those that wonder, here is a size comparison with an USB Skypephone - not to bad, double the hight, but close the the same dimensions as the Morex Cubid I was going to use earlier....



    a Few shots from the front, with the lid fitted - I still need to fit the IR Filter to the left and above IO frontports, I have it, will go in during final assembly -





    And here is a shot of the system running, WiFi Active, showing the Xenarc 700TSV which won't be used (for now) in this mod, and my Zippy aluminium keyboard, which may still be used....



    Sorry for all the photos, but nowhere on the web could I find anything decent for this case, 1 review, but poor photos, so at least this should give people out there an idea if they consider this for CarPuter-, or HomeMedia/Entertainment system use.

    Let me know what you think of the setup so far.

    Kind regards,
    Beanie.

  4. #34
    Constant Bitrate long.1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by mrbean_phillip View Post
    ......Let me know what you think of the setup so far.
    Hey Beanie,

    Well I'll tell you what I think. I think you're an Absolute Legend.
    You do your research, you make your purchases, you dive right in, you provide others with valuable info, and you keep us all updated every step of the way.
    Can't ask for more than that. Congrats on the case.

    Cheers,

    Long.1

    PS. I'm jealous of your carpc setup and your car modification's budget !!

  5. #35
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    649
    Hello Everyone,
    I know that you can use the ArcadeGFX in a Carputer to drive your ICC Color LCD, as the PC outputs VGA (31khz) and the screen needs CGA(15khz) video signal.

    Now, I have managed to assemble a very decent Carputer, then decided to go another route with a ArcadeVGA GFX card, driving the standard Ford ICC Color LCD directly, as can be seen in posts above somewhere....

    Now, last week I spent in Bangkok, and stumbled upon a very decent Apple Mac-mini setup, Core Duo (Yonah) processor, 1.86gig dual-core goodness, small, very small indeed, very powerful - and you can use bootcamp to install WinXP, so you can dualboot with Mac OS X.

    Only problem is that you have standard VGA output (via DVI+A), but....maybe there is a solution: VGA-CGA Converter to drive the Ford Falcon's color lcd directly....

    Should work very well, exactly what we need, and the unit is quite small. Hardware converter, no software needed. And ability to adjust screensize/position etc......

    So, I will order one tonight, and test on my Mac-mini, and let you know how it goes.

    Should be a decent solution to a big problem.

    Djmicky/Long.1 - should be helpful to your cause Now you need to find space for a small Mac-mini, instead of a much larger normal carputer setup.

    Br,
    MrBean.

  6. #36
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    649
    Hello Guys,
    Ok, a small update - took me a while to do properly though....

    As mentioned, one of my early objectives were to keep the fitting of the Carputer as factory-looking as possible, and with that idea in mind, I prepped the powercables this afternoon.

    I am using 12gauge cables for the Carputer, even though the current-draw from the system would onle be totalling 10A max of my 12V rail, I would still like to over-engineer a little in this department, as I would not like undersized cabling giving me problems later.

    With that in mind, I found a spare "plug" close to my brake master cylinder, allowing me a pass-through from the engine compartment into the passenger compartment.

    Here you can see it next to the master cylinder....



    And here is a shot from next to the brake-pedal (footwell) on the inside.....



    It will be properly routed and secured on the inside with a proper power-distribution block, similar to the ones the audiophiles use to tap off power for their amps....

    Here you can see how I routed the cables over the brakebooster, inside the split-loom - 10mm x 2m tubing obtained from Jaycar.



    And a close-up of the same, using saddles and cableties to secure the split-loom.



    Here is how I routed the split-loom/cables into the fusebox.......see where I mounted the earth wire.....properly soldered into the correct 12-gauge lug, and secured with a bolt to the vehicle chassis - I checked resistance from this point to the std vehicle earth points, as well as to the battery negative, and the resistance is 0.1 ohms - good quality grounding



    Here is another angle of the wiring, and the circles would indicate where the positive would be connected to - I will check my w/shhop manuals to see which of the 2 points are the best, but both seems to originate directly from the battery + pole. I may use the one with the least current-drain on based on info in the manuals.



    Here is a last shot, showing with the water reservoir bolted down again, and the fusebox lid secured - you can hardly see that there is 2 new beefy 12-gauge cables running into the cabin.....



    And in this area here is where the Carputer will be located - I will start fitting in the week after work hours



    Can hardly wait.

    Will keep you guys posted.

  7. #37
    FLAC djmickyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,314
    looking good..
    I ran my power wire differently to that..
    I screwed the battery end to the same bolt in the fuse box but then went down true the side guard and through a gromit thats located down in the foot well.
    you way looks alot easier. mine was a tight squeeze

  8. #38
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    649
    Hey Micky,
    Thanx for the feedback

    I used this location, as the silly mech at Ford routed a cable for the alarm system through that rubber-grommet, not even sleeved or anything - just the bare cable

    Bad workmanship, Ford!!

    Anyway, now that cable is running within the split-loom too, so it looks a bit neater, and will prevent eventual damage to that bare cable.

    Will be fitting the carnetix powersupply, as well as the vga-cga converter today. Took a day off......

    Will keep you posted.

  9. #39
    Low Bitrate fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    95
    nice worklog so far..
    this project looks great..

    where abouts did you get that split loom to cover the cables??... are there different sizes?... .. cost???.. need some for behind the TV in my room.. and also good for the car when i need to.
    Current Setup - (as per PC specs on the left)
    Future Setup - Commell LV-677, Dual Core2Duo 1.86ghz, 1gb ram, M2-ATX, Morex Mini-ITX case, Transflective screen

  10. #40
    It ain't easy being a green moderator meddler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Steps out the front of Henson's workshop or Sydney
    Posts
    2,783
    Jaycar and Dick Smith have a the split loom conduit.
    Never let the truth get in the way of a good story

Similar Threads

  1. Ford Galaxy Ghia - CarPC project
    By Needstorage in forum Show off your project
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 04-10-2006, 06:54 AM
  2. A Start Community Project
    By BenjaminS in forum MacCar
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-25-2005, 05:46 PM
  3. Project "Ford Windstar XP"
    By Vchat20 in forum Show off your project
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 03:47 AM
  4. Request : Project Log
    By ST34LTH in forum Mp3car Forum Suggestions/Comments
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2005, 05:59 PM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 08:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •