Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 700IDT wont turn on

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    6

    700IDT wont turn on

    Hi all

    I am having a very frustrating time with my 700IDT.

    I bought it a few months ago but never used it. I went to install it today, and plugged it all up. It worked fine, but then when I put it into the dash it didn't work anymore. So I pulled it out again and it started to work again. Now I have it hooked up to my bench 12v power supply and it just wont work, at all, no matter what I do. Multimeter says I have power on my power rail, I am wondering if my "Ribbon Cable" is rooted?

    The thing just wont turn on. It was working fine one minute, then I pushed the monitor into its case, and now it just wont work.

    I live in Australia and would prefer not to have to do the whole send backwards and forwards thing as this will take quite some time, and cost a fair bit of money. Can anyone offer some advice?

    Regards,
    Ian

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    6
    Further information on this:

    I have been able to narrow the problem to to the flat cable connection in the screen itself. By playing with it I can now get the screen to turn on, but it will not display a picture. I could fix this myself however the sticker regarding my warranty says no...

    What to do?

  3. #3
    North of the land of Hey Huns
    Auto Apps:loading...

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Westminster, MD
    Posts
    2,127
    This is a fairly common problem with the 700IDT, I've had the issue twice. Call Xenarc, they'll ship you a new cable for around $20. It's a crappy design to be honest.
    "stop with the REINSTALLS, what do you think we got some lame-o installer!!!" - mitchjs
    RevFE
    My Shop

  4. #4
    Newbie xenarctech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    38
    The design has been improved through out the years. This shouldn't happen. Anyways, please contact us directly so we can get more information from you as the manufacturing date, purchase date, the store you purchased it from, etc. We can definitely send you another flat ribbon cable. We also have authorized dealer in Australia that we can put you in contact with.

  5. #5

Similar Threads

  1. Amp turn on
    By Shmoove in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2010, 03:08 AM
  2. 12V PSU lead to remote amp turn on?
    By temposs in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-12-2006, 08:39 AM
  3. AMP wont turn ON!! HEELP!
    By pdjafari in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-15-2005, 07:43 PM
  4. PC wont turn on....
    By Cheekz185 in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-18-2005, 12:27 PM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 09:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •